Stoker Award Nominees

(List taken from the Horror Writers Association)

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Joe Hill – NOS4A2
Stephen King – Doctor Sleep
Lisa Morton – Malediction
Sarah Pinborough and F. Paul Wilson – A Necessary End
Christopher Rice – The Heavens Rise

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Kate Jonez – Candy House
John Mantooth – The Year of the Storm
Rena Mason – The Evolutionist
Jonathan Moore – Redheads
Royce Prouty – Stoker’s Manuscript

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Patrick Freivald – Special Dead
Kami Garcia – Unbreakable
Geoffrey Girard – Project Cain
Joe McKinney – Dog Days
Cat Winters – In the Shadow of Blackbirds

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Ed Brubaker – Fatale Book Three: West of Hell
Caitlin R. Kiernan – Alabaster: Wolves
Brandon Seifert – Witch Doctor, Vol. 2: Mal Practice
Cameron Stewart – Sin Titulo
Paul Tobin – Colder

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Dale Bailey – “The Bluehole”
Gary Braunbeck – “The Great Pity”
Benjamin K. Ethridge – “The Slaughter Man”
Gregory Frost – “No Others Are Genuine”
Greg F. Gifune – House of Rain
Rena Mason – East End Girls

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Michael Bailey – “Primal Tongue”
Patrick Freivald – “Snapshot”
David Gerrold – “Night Train to Paris”
Lisa Mannetti – “The Hunger Artist”
John Palisano – “The Geminis”
Michael Reaves – “Code 666”

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Fabien Adda and Fabrice Gobert – The Returned: “The Horde”
Brad Falchuk – American Horror Story: Asylum: “Spilt Milk”
Bryan Fuller – Hannibal: “Apéritif”
Daniel Knauf – Dracula: “A Whiff of Sulfur”
Glen Mazzara – The Walking Dead: “Welcome to the Tombs”

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

R.J. Cavender and Boyd E. Harris (ed.) – Horror Library: Volume 5
Eric J. Guignard (ed.) – After Death…
Michael Knost and Nancy Eden Siegel (ed.) – Barbers & Beauties
Joseph S. Pulver, Sr. (ed.) – The Grimscribe’s Puppets
Anthony Rivera and Sharon Lawson (ed.) – Dark Visions: A Collection of Modern Horror, Volume One

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Nathan Ballingrud – North American Lake Monsters: Stories
Laird Barron – The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories
James Dorr – The Tears of Isis
Caitlin R. Kiernan – The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories
Gene O’Neill – Dance of the Blue Lady
S. P. Somtow – Bible Stories for Secular Humanists

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Barbara Brodman and James E. Doan (ed.) – Images of the Modern Vampire: The Hip and the Atavistic
Gary William Crawford (ed.) – Ramsey Campbell: Critical Essays on the Modern Master of Horror
William F. Nolan – Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing about the Master of Science Fiction
Jarkko Toikkanen – The Intermedial Experience of Horror: Suspended Failures
Robert H. Waugh (ed.) – Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Bruce Boston – Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012
Helen Marshall – The Sex Lives of Monsters
Marge Simon and Sandy DeLuca – Dangerous Dreams
Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Linda Addison – Four Elements
Stephanie M. Wytovich – Hysteria: A Collection of Madness

The Lifetime Achievement Awards this year are being bestowed to R.L. Stine and editor Stephen Jones, both worthy choices.  Congratulations to all the nominees.  The Bram Stoker Awards are being held in conjunction with the World Horror Convention (in Portland, OR) on May 10, 2014.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.